The Official Website of
Mill Prong House
Here is a link to a Google Map of the Church , and here is one with directions from the Mill Prong House to the Church
Mill Prong House was erected c. 1795 by John Gilchrist (1740-1802) and received its name from the nearby stream, a tributary of Raft Swamp. McPhaul's Mill was located downstream and the location of the residence was the Mill "Prong" of Raft Swamp.
Constructed in the Federal style, it was remodeled in the Greek Revival style in the 1830s by Col. Archibald McEachern. Stylish for its day, the interior contained extensive wood graining and marbling.
The restoration of Mill Prong House was completed in 1993. It remains a unique survivor of the Highland Scot settlement with no renovation or changes in the fabric of the structure since the 1830s. Electricity, heat, and air-conditioning were only added at the time of the restoration.
The house is owned by Mill Prong Preservation, Incorporated, a qualified 501 (c) (3) charitable corporation.
Open to the public on the first Sunday of each month from 2:00 to 5:00 p.m. and at other times to school groups and civic clubs by writing the organization. The organization will consider rental for special functions.
Mill Prong House is open the First Sunday of the Month from 2 to 5 p.m., or other times by special appointment.
Mill Prong Preservation, Inc.
3062 Edinburgh Rd, Raeford, NC 28367
Telephone: Chandler Stewart, President, at 910-739-4879
Send Email to Chandler Stewart, President